Image by Jack B

  MISSION&VISION

The "Feminité" Museum was founded in 2020 to pay tribute to the history, art and cultures of femininity and the people who feel part of this in St. Pauli and their emancipation movements. It gives femininity and the people who feel they belong to it, their history(s), artistic works, life testimonies and movement documents a place to live and remember.

For centuries, St.Pauli around the so called Hamburger Berg has been ticking differently: as a 'Great Freedom' (Große Freiheit is a street name here) for different religions and for people of all countries, as a permissive place for lust and joy, St.Pauli offers a place for the most diverse people and their dreams and hopes. It is only logical that social experiments are also tried out here: from squats to park fiction, from art communes to urban gardening: St.Pauli is used as an experimental field for social and artistic utopias. 

St. Pauli is a place of sexual and gender emancipation. At the same time, the Reeperbahn is the symbol of the commercialization of lust, desire, the female body. Females here are both exploited objects and self-confident actors in the sex industry. 

The neighborhood is the space of doers and inspirers of life concepts and social utopias, of fighters against the Nazis or political activists. Femininity in St. Pauli is simply different, automatically has a different meaning and is lived in a special way.

 

We provide the structures and practices of Feminité so that all people feel invited to become part of Feminité - as visitors, cooperation partners and creators. Our work is decidedly interdisciplinary, intersectional and knowledge-democratic. This means that all kinds of testimonies, histories of femininities are collected and all forms of knowledge - artistic, activist, practical or scientific - are considered valuable.

Aesthetic processes and artistic work have a special significance as a practice of uncertainty and utopia. The museum is a civil society project that is deeply rooted in the experiences of its makers. The multitude of different experiences and interests that are articulated in the museum are the basis for a collective space in which history is actively thought about and the future is shaped.

Image by Jack B

  MISSION&VISION

Das Weiblichkeiten-Museum FEMINITÉ auf St. Pauli  wurde 2020 gegründet, um der Geschichte, Kunst und Kultur von Weiblichkeit und der sich in ihr verortenden Menschen auf St. Pauli und ihrer Emanzipationsbewegungen Rechnung zu tragen. Es gibt Weiblichkeit und Menschen, die sich ihr zugehörig fühlen, ihrer Historie, ihren Geschichten, künstlerischen Werken, Lebenszeugnissen und Bewegungsdokumenten einen Lebens-und Erinnerungsort.

Seit Jahrhunderten tickt St. Pauli rund um den Hamburger Berg anders: Als ‚Große Freiheit‘ für verschiedene Religionen und für Menschen aller Länder, als freizügiger Ort für Lust und Freude, bietet St. Pauli den unterschiedlichsten Menschen  ihren Träumen und Hoffnungen einen Ort. Dass hier auch soziale Experimente probiert werden, ist nur logisch: von den Hausbesetzungen zu Park Fiction, von Kunstkommunen zu Urban Gardening- St. Pauli wird als Experimentierfeld für soziale und künstlerische Utopien genutzt. 

St. Pauli ist Ort sexueller und geschlechtlicher Emanzipation. Gleichzeitig ist die Reeperbahn das Sinnbild der Kommerzialisierung von Lust, Begehren, dem weiblichen Körper. Weiblichkeiten sind hier sowohl ausgebeutete Objekte als auch selbstbewusste Akteur:innen in der Sex-Industrie. 

Der Kiez ist der Raum von Macher:innen und Inspirationsgeber:innen für Lebenskonzepte und soziale Utopien, von Kämpfer:innen gegen die Nazis oder politischen Aktivist:innen. Weiblichkeit auf St. Pauli ist einfach anders, hat automatisch einen anderen Bedeutungsraum und wird besonders gelebt.

 

Wir stellen Strukturen und Praxen des FEMINITÉ zur Verfügung, so dass sich alle Menschen eingeladen fühlen, Teil des FEMINITÉ zu werden – als Besucher:innen, Kooperationspartner:innen, Gestalter:innen. Wir arbeiten dezidiert interdisziplinär, intersektional und wissensdemokratisch. Das bedeutet: Alle Arten von Zeugnissen, von Geschichte(n) der Weiblichkeiten werden gesammelt und alle Wissensformen –künstlerische, aktivistische, alltagspraktische oder wissenschaftliche – als wertvoll angesehen.

Ästhetischen Verfahren und künstlerischer Arbeit kommen dabei als Praxis der Verunsicherung und der Utopie eine besondere Bedeutung zu. Gewachsen aus den Erfahrungen der Macher:innen ist das Museum ein zivilgesellschaftliches Projekt. Die Vielzahl der unterschiedlichen Erfahrungen und Interessen, die sich im Museum artikulieren, sind Basis für einen kollektiven Raum, in dem über Geschichte aktiv nachgedacht und Zukunft gestaltet wird.